Ogilvie Raceway

  • 1
Saturday Night Racing at the Big O!

Saturday Night Racing at the Big O!

Come join us for racing every Saturday Night starting at 6:30! See our schedule for more details.

Architech Mechanical
Coors Light
Spire Credit Union
Daves Floor Sanding
DN Trucking
East Central
Engine Tech
Grand Casino
JPW Concept Engines
Minnesota Equipment
Novus Glass
Olson Power Equipment
Pine Tech Community College
Rock Auto
Septic Check
Structural Buildings
Twisted Tea
Wagamon Brothers
Bill Jerkowski Real Estate
2nd Generation Chimney
Kwik Trip
Kids Enjoy Another Great Meet the Drivers Night at Wagamon's Ogilvie Raceway with Wonderful Weather and Great Race Action!


Ogilvie Raceway

Kids Enjoy Another Great Meet the Drivers Night at Wagamon's Ogilvie Raceway with Wonderful Weather and Great Race Action!

By: Tami Jo Kuehn

Ogilvie, MN (June 1) – Perfect weather, smooth track surface and great WISSOTA Dirt Race Action is what fans experienced Saturday night at Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway. It was Meet the Drivers Kids Night, and many kids and families flocked to the track during intermission to get goodies from their favorite drivers. At the night’s close, David Swearingen, Tommy Pogones, Blake Hawker, Payson Patrin took home trophies, while Shane Sabraski took home two.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds began the night’s main events, however they had a couple cautions before lap one was completed. After the drivers got through lap one, Wyatt Boyum and Ashton Schulte battled for first with David Swearingen and Cole Boston door to door for third. Boyum stretched his lead as laps passed without issue, but one final caution flew to reset the field. Boyum had Schulte and Swearingen on his rear, and Swearingen drove to his door when the race resumed. Swearingen wasted no time and took the lead with the race half over. The remainder of the laps passed, and when the checkers waved, David Swearingen snagged the win. Remaining top points went to Wyatt Boyum, Cole Boston, Ryan Putnam and Ashton Schulte.

Kyle Howland and Levi Randt led the WISSOTA Streets to the green, and Randt claimed the immediate lead. Tommy Pogones slid in behind Randt as the top two drivers separated from the pack. Pogones moved next to Randt and quickly took the lead as they spaced out. Pogones set the cruise control and cruised around the Big O with Randt in a solid second. Thomas Worth and Howland battled for third lap after lap while the top two drivers drove away. Tommy Pogones had a lead of 5.35 seconds over his competition as he took this third straight feature win at Ogilvie while Levi Randt, Kyle Howland, Thomas Worth and Charlie Shiek rounded out the top points.

After an early caution in the WISSOTA Late Model feature, the race resumed with Dylan Kromschroeder in the top point. Zach Wohlers and Shane Sabraski followed behind Kromschroeder until Sabraski raced to the #9’s door. Sabraski pulled ahead with the lead while Jeff Massingill and Josh Zimpel caught Kromschroeder’s rear. Massingill worked the low line and slid into the second point, but neither Zimpel nor Kromschroeder let him get away. The three drivers battled for second until it appeared Zimpel secured the point. Zimpel began to chase after Sabraski when the yellow waved for debris. Sabraski sped away when the race resumed while Zimpel, Massingill and Kromschroeder raced three wide for second. With few laps remaining, Josh Zimpel, Jeff Massingill, Zach Wohlers and Charles Olson settled in points two through five, and as the checkers waved, Shane Sabraski took the win.

Rowan Tramm and Tommy Pogones brought the field of WISSOTA Mod Fours to the line, and as their race began, Tramm and Blake Hawker battled for first. Hawker took the point with Dustin Holtquist in second and Tramm holding third. Holtquist raced to Hawker’s door, as the top two drivers pulled away from their competition. Hawker and Holtquist remained nose to nose as laps passed with Hawker retaining a slight lead at the line. On lap 11 of 15, Holtquist edged out the lead, but Hawker remained at his side. The top two drivers never let one get away from the other with the checkers raised high. Blake Hawker crossed the line and took his first feature in the WISSOTA Mod Fours. Dustin Holtquist settled for second with Tyler Larson, Connor Hass and Tommy Pogones as top finishers.

Devin Fouquette and Travis Schulte sped off as the WISSOTA Modifieds took the green, and Schulte claimed the lead at the end of lap one. Shane Sabraski and Zach Benson made their way by Fouquette and Sabraski caught Schulte’s #3t. As they entered the turn, Sabraski secured the lead with Schulte and Benson as top drivers. A caution for debris slowed the drivers, but on the restart, Benson drove to Sabraski’s door, Sabraski however sped away while Jody Bellefeuille challenged Benson. Bellefeuille and Benson battled for second as JT Johnson joined in. They were nearly three-wide with Sabraski comfortably alone in the lead. Another caution for debris was triggered and as the drivers retook the green, Tyler Kaeter charged his way to third and chased after Johnson for second. Bellefeuille came back to Kaeter’s door and they fought for third. Great battles occurred through the field of Mods as the race came to a close, and Shane Sabraski grabbed the win. JT Johnson finished second with Jody Bellefeuille, Tyler Kaeter and Zach Benson in the top five.

The WISSOTA Hornets wrapped up the night’s action with Bobie Arnes, Jenna Hagemann and Payson Patrin racing three-wide for first. The battle for first was one to watch as the top three drivers battled for the point. Hagemann was slightly ahead at the line the first handful of laps, however the second half showed Patrin ahead. Laps passed with the top three nearly grid-locked in a fight for first until Patrin finally broke away. Payson Patrin stretched his lead and took his third feature win of the season at Ogilvie. Remaining top points went to Bobie Arnes, Jenna Hagemann, Zachary Furbur and Randy Jacoboski.

Next Saturday, Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway proudly welcomes back the World of Outlaw Sprint cars with the UMSS winged Sprints also on the agenda. Tickets are available at www.slspromotions.com and racing will begin at 7:30pm

Article Credit: Photo By: Mike Wadsen

Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos