Ogilvie Raceway

  • 1
Saturday Night Racing at the Big O!

Saturday Night Racing at the Big O!

Come join us for racing every Saturday Night starting at 6:30! See our schedule for more details.

Architech Mechanical
Coors Light
Spire Credit Union
Daves Floor Sanding
DN Trucking
East Central
Engine Tech
Grand Casino
JPW Concept Engines
Minnesota Equipment
Novus Glass
Olson Power Equipment
Pine Tech Community College
Rock Auto
Septic Check
Structural Buildings
Twisted Tea
Wagamon Brothers
Bill Jerkowski Real Estate
2nd Generation Chimney
Kwik Trip
Kids Have a Great Time on Spire Credit Union Night at Wagamon's Ogilvie Raceway, as they got to "Meet the Drivers" during Intermission.


Ogilvie Raceway

Kids Have a Great Time on Spire Credit Union Night at Wagamon's Ogilvie Raceway, as they got to "Meet the Drivers" during Intermission.

By: Tami Jo Kuehn

Ogilvie, MN (August 19) – It was a hot and steamy evening, however it was Meet the Driver’s night at the Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway and many fans and drivers came out to enjoy some WISSOTA Dirt Race Action. The night was sponsored by Spire Credit Union and David Swearingen, Dexton Koch, Shane Sabraski, John Kaanta, Tyler Larson and Joe Wilber went home victorious.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds kicked off the night’s feature events, and as soon as they took the green, they yellow waved as 5 cars sat tangled on the front stretch. The drivers were sorted and realigned with Cole Chernosky and Zach Benson on row one. Chernosky claimed the top point while David Swearingen slid into second. Swearingen made the pass for first, but Chernosky kept him close. Swearingen began to stretch his lead as laps went by, however one final caution slowed the drivers. With few laps to go, Swearingen’s comfortable lead was gone and he had Benson and Chernosky on his rear. David Swearingen pulled away as the green waved and soon took the checkers. Zach Benson, Cole Chernosky, Cole Boston and Travis Schulte rounded out the top five points.

Jeremy Nelson and Russell Kostreba brought the WISSOTA Super Stocks to the green, but Dexton Koch came through the middle of the track and took the lead by the end of lap one. Nelson and Shane Sabraski fought for second until a caution was triggered. Koch brought the drivers back to green, Sabraski took second while Nelson found Cole Chernosky at his door. Sabraski kept close to the rear of Koch, and after some paint was exchanged, Sabraski spun in the curve. The yellow reappeared, and Koch was still in command when the race resumed. Dexton Koch slowly put space between him and the competition as laps went by and continued on to take the win. Jeremy Nelson took second with Cole Chernosky, Dylan Kromschroeder and Brandon Linquist claimed top points.

The Racer’s X – Performance Parts WISSOTA Late Models took the clay for the next feature, and Jeff Massingill claimed the early lead. Massingill retained the top point after a quick caution, but had John Kaanta and Dave Mass to his rear in a battle for second. Cars covered the entire race surface as the yellow flew with debris on the backstretch. The race was half in the books as Massingill brought the racers back to green. Kaanta raced to Massingill’s door for first as Pat Doar put pressure on Mass for third. Doar secured third as Massingill and Kaanta ran side by side. Laps passed one by one with Massingill edging out the lead. However, at lap 14, the margin of difference between the top two drivers was 0.00 seconds. Massingill and Kaanta remained in a nose to nose battle the final laps until the checkers waved. The difference was still only 0.363 seconds as John Kaanta crossed the line first and earned the win. Jeff Massingill settled for second followed by Pat Doar, Dave Mass and Andy Jones wrapping up the top five.

The WISSOTA Modifieds were next, and they competed their caution free race in a short six minutes. Brennan Gave took the immediate lead with Brady Uotinen in second. Shane Sabraski, who started seventh, moved into the second point by lap five and began to reel in Gave. After a few laps passed, Sabraski dove to Gave’s door and made the pass for first. Slower drivers then came in to play as Sabraski stretched his lead and cars covered the race surface. Shane Sabraski didn’t look back after taking the lead, and held the point until the checkers waved. The remaining top points were claimed by Ryan Gierke, Brennan Gave, Jeremy Nelson and Tyler Kaeter.

The top WISSOTA Mod Four drivers went four-wide into turn one as the green waved. Tyler Larson emerged as the leader, however other drivers became tangled and the yellow waved. The Mod Fours had a few cautions with only one lap scored, and Larson remained in the lead. Dustin Holtquist and Connor Hass battled for second and kept close to Larson. Hass broke away from Holtquist and remained within a car length of Larson’s #7L while the final laps came to a close. Connor Hass kept up, but settled for second as Tyler Larson snagged the win. Dustin Holtquist, Robert Holtquist and Chris McClain rounded out the top points.

Anthony Jenson sped away when the green waved for the WISSOTA Hornets as others battled three-wide. Joe Wilber took the second point with Payson Patrin close behind. Wilber moved to the door of Jenson as drivers in positions one through six raced two-by-two for points. Wilber pulled ahead with the lead, but the top four drivers kept close as they caught a slower driver. Contact occurred between the Hornets and a couple cautions took place, including a red flag delay. After the final caution, the field of drivers was reset. Contact still occurred amongst the drivers, but they were able to complete the race with Joe Wilber taking the win. Brandon Nyberg, Anthony Jenson, Presley Patrin and Zach Furbur grabbed points two through five.

Next Saturday will be an eventful night at Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway. It will be season championship night, HopeKids night and the Structural Buildings WISSOTA Late Model Challenge Series will be on hand. All seven WISSOTA classes will be in action next weekend on what is sure to be a great night to cap off our regular season.

Article Credit: Photo By: On Point Photography

Back to News

Latest Photos

Latest Videos