Ogilvie Raceway

    Architech Mechanical
    Coors Light
    Daves Floor Sanding
    DN Trucking
    East Central
    Engine Tech
    Grand Casino
    JPW Concept Engines
    Minnesota Equipment
    Novus Glass
    Olson Power Equipment
    Pine Tech Community College
    Rock Auto
    Septic Check
    Spire Credit Union
    Structural Buildings
    Twisted Tea
    Wagamon Brothers
    Bill Jerkowski Real Estate
    2nd Generation Chimney
    Jake Timm Takes Unique Trophy and Big Payday on the 3rd and Final Night of the 3rd Annual Mod Wars at the Ogilvie Raceway


    Ogilvie Raceway

    Jake Timm Takes Unique Trophy and Big Payday on the 3rd and Final Night of the 3rd Annual Mod Wars at the Ogilvie Raceway

    By: Tami Jo Kuehn

    Ogilvie, MN (July 15) – The third and final day of the 3rd Annual Mod Wars at Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway kicked off Saturday night with drivers and fans filling the grounds for another day of WISSOTA Dirt Race Series action. 157 drivers signed in for the night which included 52 WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds whose purse was increased to $5,000 to win courtesy of Northern Lines Contracting. 30 races were completed in their entirety and the night wrapped up with a spectacular fireworks show. Keith Tourville, Dustin Holtquist and Bobie Arnes took wins, Travis Schulte won the Midwest Modified payday while Jake Timm won the Mod War taking home the $11,000 check.

    The WISSOTA Street Stocks were the first feature event of the night with Hunter VanGilder snagging the immediate lead. Keith Tourville, Nick Traynor and Kaden Woodie raced three wide for second until Tourville moved to VanGilder’s side. Tourville and VanGilder raced door to door for multiple laps and pulled away from the field of drivers. Just as Tourville edged out the lead, a caution was triggered and cars were regrouped. Trouville sped away on the restart, but the real battle was for second. Traynor, VanGilder, Kyle Dykhoff and Jeff Ekdahl battled and swapped for the position lap after lap. As the race came to an end, points two through five were awarded to Kyle Dykhoff, Nick Traynor, Jeff Ekdahl and Hunter VanGilder respectively with Keith Tourville sweeping the weekend by taking the checkers.

    Dustin Holtquist and Connor Hass led the WISSOTA Mod Fours to the green, and the first couple laps, drivers remained two-by-two in battles for points. Holtquist broke away with the lead as Tommy Bawden moved in to challenge Hass for second. A couple cautions kept the drivers at a stop and go pace as Bawden secured second. Tyler Larson and Luke Erlandson challenged Hass for third in a three-wide battle and Larson got the spot. Larson then sped away chasing Bawden for second but two more cautions were triggered with a couple laps to go. When the checkers waved, Dustin Holtquist took the win followed by Tommy Bawden, Tyler Larson, Chad Funt and Luke Erlandson as the top five.

    24 WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds made their way to the race surface for a 30 lap feature with a $5,000 payday on the line. Nate Reinke and Travis Schulte brought the field to green and at the end of lap one it was Schulte, Reinke and Zach Benson in the top three. The top drivers separated from the field of cars while others battled to and three wide for positions. Reinke kept close to Schulte as laps went by, and soon they were catching slower cars. A quick caution slowed the drivers, and when the race resumed, Benson, Reinke, Nick Koehler and Jamie Davis were nearly four wide for second. Benson raced as close to the wall as possible, however in turn two, Benson bobbled against the concrete. With just seven laps to go, Benson retired to the infield and the drivers were sorted. After a couple more green flag laps, Ashton Schulte also fell victim to the wall with a hard hit. A break in the race action occurred as the fencing was fixed and drivers were tended to. Once the race resumed, Schulte remained in command with Koehler and Davis on his rear. Koehler gave it one final push the final lap, but Travis Schulte held his position and took the win. Nick Koehler settled for second with Jamie Davis, Nate Reinke and James Trantina in top points.

    As the Modifieds got ready in staging, the WISSOTA Hornets took the clay for their race, and as the green waved, Bobie Arnes, Joe Wilber and Alex Aderman grabbed the top points. Wilber kept close to Arnes for first, and after a few laps, Arnes caught slower drivers. Arnes began to lap drivers, which slowed his #94A and Wilber closed the gap Arnes had built. Bobie Arnes however held his line and not only took the win, but earned his first feature win at the Big O. Remaining top points went to Joe Wilber, Alex Aderman, Brady Albertson and Carson Gotelaere.

    31 of the best USMTS and WISSOTA Modifieds in the country filled the surface of Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway to race their 50 lap, $11,000 to win, feature event. After the traditional four-wide salute with music and Flags, the drivers lined up side by side to take the green. Shane Sabraski and Alex Williamson brought the drivers out of the curve and Tyler Wolff moved forward to go three-wide for first. Wolff claimed the point but the yellow would fly a few laps in. Wolff sped away when the green reappeared, but Williamson rushed to his door and tried to make a move. A few cautions occurred over a handful of laps, but Wolff remained in charge. Rodney Sanders and Jake Timm challenged Williamson for second as they rounded the curves three-wide. Timm and Williamson continued to fight for second as laps clicked by. Just then, Williamson drifted high and fell back in points which put Timm and Sanders in second and third. With 11 laps to go, Wolff caught slower drivers and began to weave his way around cars. Timm took advantage of a slowed Wolff and quickly caught the #4w. Timm ran the high line, and Wolff raced along the tires, while they were parallel in the curves. As they raced three-wide with slower cars, a caution flew with a handful laps to go. Wolff was still in command, but Sanders and Timm were on his rear. As the green waved, Timm had the advantage and shot into the lead. Jake Timm led the remaining laps and took the win, payday and unique trophy with Rodney Sanders, Tyler Wolff, Shane Sabraski and Ryan Gierke in top points.

    After 89 races, many laps and three straight days of racing, the 3rd Annual Mod Wars was officially in the books. Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway will take Sunday off, however we will be back in action Monday night, July 17th, with Night 1 of the XR Northern Storm Series featuring the Structural Buildings WISSOTA Late Model Challenge Series and the WISSOTA Modifieds and Midwest Modifieds. Racing will resume at 7:00pm.

    Back to News

    Latest Photos

    Latest Videos