Ogilvie Raceway

  • 1
WoO Sprint Tickets now on sale

WoO Sprint Tickets now on sale

World of Outlaws Sprint Cars at The Big O on June 8th

Architech Mechanical
Coors Light
Spire Credit Union
Daves Floor Sanding
DN Trucking
East Central
Engine Tech
Grand Casino
JPW Concept Engines
Minnesota Equipment
Novus Glass
Olson Power Equipment
Pine Tech Community College
Rock Auto
Septic Check
Structural Buildings
Twisted Tea
Wagamon Brothers
Bill Jerkowski Real Estate
2nd Generation Chimney
Kwik Trip
Nearly 100 Bikes Line the Front Stretch for Big O Bike Giveaway Night


Ogilvie Raceway

Nearly 100 Bikes Line the Front Stretch for Big O Bike Giveaway Night

By: Tami Jo Kuehn

Ogilvie, MN (August 13) – After a week off, Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway was back in action for the AFCO Race of Champions qualifier night. Nearly 100 bikes lined the front stretch for the Annual Bike Night Giveaway, and along with the bikes, 100 drivers checked in to compete in some WISSOTA Dirt Track Race Series action. Zach Benson, Andrew Hanson, Justin Schelitzche and Dustin Holtquist claimed victories while Shane Sabraski doubled up on the wins.

The WISSOTA Street Stocks were first on the order of events with Andrew Hanson and Charlie Shiek on the front row. Just as the race began, Kyle Howland made contact with Justin Pogones and the yellow waved. As the race resumed, Jeff Ekdahl slid into the top point with Shiek and Kaden Woodie in tow. Woodie and Shiek battled for second as Andrew Hanson made the battle three wide. Hanson claimed second and made his way to Ekdahl’s door. Hanson drove by the 11jr for the lead, but Ekdahl kept close. With two laps to go, the top drivers caught slower traffic and were three wide. Andrew Hanson held his lead and took the win followed by Jeff Ekdahl, Kaden Woodie, Kyle Howland and Thomas Worth as the top finishers.

Jack Koranda and Shane Sabraski led the WISSOTA Super Stocks to the green and Sabraski claimed the immediate lead. Koranda and Dustin Nelson took second and third while Chris Wark, Ryan Kostreba and Dexton Koch raced for fourth. A couple of cautions slowed the Supers, but as the race resumed Sabraski remained in command. Dexton Koch had made his way into second and dove low to challenge Sabraski, but Sabraski pulled away. The laps went by and Shane Sabraski continued to stretch his lead and took the win. Remaining top points went to Dexton Koch, Dustin Nelson, Denis Czech and Jeremy Nelson.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds took the clay and had a few restarts in the first few laps of the race. As the race got back underway, David Swearingen was in first followed by Tanner Gehl and Zach Benson. Drivers were three wide in the pack as they battled for points while the top three drivers separated from the bunch. Benson slowly reeled in Swearingen as a final caution occurred. Swearingen brought the drivers back to green with Benson and Brandon Mehrwerth on his rear. Benson remained glued to the #5 of Swearingen and as the white waved, Benson applied the pressure. As the checkers were raised, Swearingen and Benson shot out of the curve and raced to the finish. Zach Benson crossed the line first for the win while David Swearingen, Cole Boston, Brandon Mehrwerth and Travis Schulte took points two through five.

The WISSOTA Mod Fours had a caution right off the start of their race, but as the green reappeared, Dustin Holtquist took the lead. Tyler Larson took second and kept close to Holtquist. As the laps went by, Holtquist tried to shake Larson but Larson didn’t budge. Larson moved to Holtquist’s door but Dustin Holtquist held the lead and took the win. Tyler Larson, Landyn Randt, David Slovick and Connor Hass rounded out the top points.

Jeremy Nelson and Shane Sabraski brought the WISSOTA Modifieds around the Big O, and when the green dropped, Jody Bellefeuille joined the leaders and raced three wide for first. Sabraski edged out the lead with Bellefeuille in second. Nelson held third but Dave Cain dropped to his side to battle for the point. Sabraski and Bellefeuille separated from the pack while Clayton Wagamon raced his way into third. The race remained green as drivers settled into positions allowing Sabraski to extend his lead. Shane Sabraski took his second feature win of the night followed by Jody Bellefeuille, Clayton Wagamon, Jeremy Nelson and Dave Cain as the top finishers.

The WISSOTA Hornets wrapped up the night’s events with Jesse Turnvall and Bobie Arnes on the front row. The drivers took the green and were three wide for positions. Turnvall claimed the lead but Alex Aderman raced to his door and they battled side by side. Justin Schelitzche slid his way by Tony Jenson to take third and chased after the leaders. Turnvall and Aderman were still side by side as Schelitzche joined in to make the battle three wide. Schelitzche raced the low groove and snuck his way into the top point, but Turnvall and Aderman remained glued to one another for second. Joe Wilber had been following the battle for second for multiple laps when he joined the battle. Contact occurred among the drivers as they battled for second, but everyone kept their cars moving with few laps to go. Justin Schelitzche kept his foot down and took the win with Joe Wilber, Alex Aderman, Marcus Ammerman and Jesse Turnvall as the top finishers.

The FastLane Super Stock Series will make their re-scheduled stop Next Saturday at the Ogilvie Raceway. Racing will resume at 6:30pm.

Article Credit: Photo By: Mike Wadsen

Back to News

Latest Photos

2024 Schedule

Latest Videos