Ogilvie Raceway

  • 1
WoO Sprint Tickets now on sale

WoO Sprint Tickets now on sale

World of Outlaws Sprint Cars at The Big O on June 8th

Architech Mechanical
Coors Light
Spire Credit Union
Daves Floor Sanding
DN Trucking
East Central
Engine Tech
Grand Casino
JPW Concept Engines
Minnesota Equipment
Novus Glass
Olson Power Equipment
Pine Tech Community College
Rock Auto
Septic Check
Structural Buildings
Twisted Tea
Wagamon Brothers
Bill Jerkowski Real Estate
2nd Generation Chimney
Kwik Trip
Fans Pack the Ogilvie Raceway Grandstands for a Fun Night of Bus Races


Ogilvie Raceway

Fans Pack the Ogilvie Raceway Grandstands for a Fun Night of Bus Races

By: Tami Jo Kuehn

Ogilvie, MN (July 30) – It was a packed house Saturday night at Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway as people sat shoulder to shoulder to see some School Bus races as well as 59 WISSOTA drivers go to battle. The night was full of side by side WISSOTA Dirt Track Race Series action with Travis Schulte, Robert Holtquist, Jody Bellefeuille and Justin Schelitzche earning hardware.

Mike Dickey and Cole Elton brought the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds around the track, and as the green waved, Elton, Dickey and Brandon Hines were three wide for first. Elton pulled away with the point with Hines and Dano Ostrander chasing Elton’s #24. Travis Schulte wedged his way into the second position, and after a quick caution, Schulte snuck by Elton for the lead. Elton remained in second but found Zach Benson and Cole Boston at his sides and they raced three wide. Just as Boston secured the second point, he suffered a mechanical issue and slowed to a stop which sparked a caution. Schulte remained in command as the race resumed with Benson and Elton to his rear. Benson kept close as he and Schulte separated from the field, but Travis Schulte kept to his groove and took the checkers. Zach Benson, Cole Elton, Brandon Hines and David Pixley rounded out the top points.

Landyn Randt claimed the early lead in the WISSOTA Mod Four feature, but Robert Holtquist and Tommy Bawden kept close. Holtquist and Bawden ran side by side for second until Holtquist took the point. Holtquist made his way to Randt’s door and they battled for first. Holtquist raced the low line and nosed ahead of Randt as Tyler Larson moved to Bawden’s side. Larson took over the third point and chased after Randt as a caution was triggered. Robert Holtquist brought the drivers back to green and went on to take the win. Tyler Larson, Landyn Randt, Tommy Bawden and Levi Randt were the top five drivers.

The WISSOTA Modifieds were next on the order of events, and just as the green waved, there was action among the field. Jeremy Nelson took the lead with Jody Bellefeuille and Mason McEvers as the top three drivers. Bellefeuille slid to Nelson’s door and they were side by side for the lead. Nelson held the point as Clayton Wagamon raced alongside the wall and shot out of the turn lap after lap to challenge the leaders. As a couple drivers were put a lap down, Kent Winkelman’s car unleashed fluid on the track surface and spun in the curve. The yellow was triggered, and the field was reset. As the green waved, Bellefeuille took full advantage of the fresh moisture and slid from the low groove to the high groove to steal the lead. Nelson however didn’t let Bellefeuille get away and raced back to his door. With just two laps to go, a final caution slowed the drivers, but Jody Bellefeuille didn’t let anyone by as he took the checkers. Points two through five were claimed by Jeremy Nelson, Dave Cain, JT Johnson and Clayton Wagamon.

The WISSOTA Hornets wrapped up the night’s regular races with Colton Trembath and Randy Jacoboski on the front row. As the green flew, Trembath took first while Joe Wilber, Marcus Ammerman, Jesse Turnvall, Justin Schelitzche battled with Jacoboski for second. The drivers were nearly five wide in the curves as Jacoboski had a mechanical issue and the yellow waved. Trembath was in charge when the green reappeared but Schelitzche, Wilber and Ammerman raced to his sides. Again, the Hornets were four wide as they rounded the Big O and Schelitzche emerged with the lead. One final caution would slow the drivers, and when the green waved, they continued to fight for points the remaining laps. Justin Schelitzche built a commanding lead and snagged the feature win. Marcus Ammerman, Joe Wilber, Jamie Ammerman and John Aderman rounded out the top points.

The Buses feature event officially ended the night of action at Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway, and it was a fun 15-minute event with some bumping, grinding, turning and minimal carnage. Ogilvie Raceway will have next Saturday off but will be back racing on Saturday August 13th with our Kids Night Bike Giveaway. Racing will begin at 6:30pm.

Article Credit: Photo By: On Point Photography

Back to News

Latest Photos

2024 Schedule

Latest Videos