Ogilvie Raceway

  • 1
WoO Sprint Tickets now on sale

WoO Sprint Tickets now on sale

World of Outlaws Sprint Cars at The Big O on June 8th

Architech Mechanical
Coors Light
Spire Credit Union
Daves Floor Sanding
DN Trucking
East Central
Engine Tech
Grand Casino
JPW Concept Engines
Minnesota Equipment
Novus Glass
Olson Power Equipment
Pine Tech Community College
Rock Auto
Septic Check
Structural Buildings
Twisted Tea
Wagamon Brothers
Bill Jerkowski Real Estate
2nd Generation Chimney
Kwik Trip
Dustin Sorensen Claims Victory on Night 2 of Mod Wars


Ogilvie Raceway

Dustin Sorensen Claims Victory on Night 2 of Mod Wars

By Tami Jo Kuehn,

Ogilvie, MN (July 15) – After a successful first night of Mod Wars, night two of the three-day event kicked off Friday at Wagamon’s Ogilvie Raceway. The WISSOTA Modifieds and USMTS Modifieds lined up to battle during the night as well as WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds, Mod Fours and Hornets. At the end of night two, Dustin Sorensen, Jason VandeKamp, Tommy Bawden and Marcus Ammerman were awarded wins.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds were first on the agenda with Kyle Kirberger and Jason VandeKamp on the front row. VandeKamp claimed the early lead and Brady Larson shot into the second point. Larson kept close to VandeKamp and they separated from the pack as the yellow waved. The field was reset with VandeKamp alone on the restart and drivers raced three wide in the turns as the green waved. Kirberger and David Swearingen battled for second and kept VandeKamp within reach. The top three drivers pulled away from the field as Kirberger snagged second. Kirberger kept close to VandeKamp as another caution occurred. The final restart was a shootout with just two laps to go, but Jason VandeKamp held his position and earned himself his 250th career win. Kyle Kirberger, David Swearingen, Jake Smith and Zach Benson rounded out the top five.

Tommy Bawden took the immediate lead when the WISSOTA Mod Four feature went green, but the yellow soon followed. The Mod Four race was plagued with cautions and was eventually docked to five laps to complete. Tommy Bawden retained his lead throughout the race and took the checkered flags with Keith Thell, Robert Holtquist, Landyn Randt and Keith Tourville as the top finishers.

29 Modifieds rolled onto the Big O for their 42 lap feature event. Jake Timm and Clayton Wagamon brought the drivers down the front stretch, and as the green dropped, Timm, Dan Ebert and Wagamon claimed the top three points. Timm led the drivers through a quick caution but had Wagamon on his rear. Wagamon raced high against the wall, flew by Timm and then drove away. Drivers covered the track surface as Dustin Sorensen made his way into second and began to reel in Wagamon. Wagamon had caught slower traffic as he saw the #19 of Sorensen at his side. They raced nose to nose for the top position until the yellow waved for a driver in turn four. The drivers were realigned with Sorensen alone on the front row and Wagamon and Timm at his rear. Cars were three wide in the curves when the race resumed and Sorensen and Wagamon separated from the field. Sorensen raced low, Wagamon ran high as they raced parallel for the lead. Laps passed and the top two drivers remained close for first until a final restart slowed the Mods. The green waved one final time and Dustin Sorensen continued on to snag the win. Shane Sabraski, Lucas Schott, Clayton Wagamon and J.T. Johnson earned points two through five.

The WISSOTA Hornets wrapped up night two of Mod Wars, and after a quick caution, their race was underway with Mac Johnston in the lead. Colton Trembath and Marcus Ammerman kept close to Johnston as they battled for second. Ammerman raced to Johnston’s door but Johnston retained the lead. Ammerman didn’t back down and they raced side by side for a handful of laps. Johnston had nosed out a slight lead with two laps to go and was able to hold the point to take the win. After the Hornets went through post-race tech, there were a couple of disqualifications resulting in Marcus Ammerman being awarded the win. Remaining top points went to Joseph Wilber, Colton Trembath, Jamie Ammerman and Carter Matthews.

Back to News

Latest Photos

2024 Schedule

Latest Videos