2014 Awards Banquet will be held Saturday, February 28th!
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
May 17, 2014 - Nelson sweeps the first Shootout, Checkers fall in familiar hands

Ogilvie, MN (May 17)

Season opener at the Ogilvie Raceway kicked off on Armed forces night with some exciting WISSOTA Amsoil Dirt Track Racing Series action. The patriot car was on display and doubled as the pace car as Matt Halls, Jeremy Nelson, Justin Pogones, Dan Gullikson, Eric Martini and Quain Bustizky took home the trophies.


The WISSOTA Mod Fours launched the night’s features with Kyle Thell and Ross Mead on the front row. Thell quickly grabbed the lead and Matt Halls took second. Keith Thell also passed Mead and moved in behind Halls. Kyle Thell had a good lead, but Halls closed in and was soon at his door. Halls made the pass for first while Keith Thell caught his brother Kyle. The top drivers began to spread out and Halls remained strong in the lead. Halls took the checkers and won the first feature of 2014 with Kyle Thell, Keith Thell, Ryan Buer and Trevor Roediger in the top spots.


Jeremy Nelson and Tony Schill took the green as the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature began. Nelson took the lead and drove away but the yellow appeared. Nelson was first on the restart with Wade Skindelien and Charlie Zander in tow. The battle for second heated up but Skindelien rubbed the wall and the yellow flew. Zander and Bud Martini were on Nelson’s rear and Martini drove right behind Nelson. Martini put the pressure on Nelson, but Nelson held the lead. Schill worked his way back into top points and next to Martini. Martini then turned into the infield and Schill assumed second. One more caution slowed the drivers down, but Nelson remained in the top position. Nelson took the win with Dave Siercks, Schill, Kyle Wehking and Skindelien in the top five.


Kris Peterson and Justin Pogones brought the Jacy Norgaard Photo WISSOTA Street Stocks to the green. Peterson jumped into first with Pogones and Allen Gessell, Jr. in tow. Kurt Becken and Dan McCain battled for fourth while Gessell, Jr. moved to Pogones’ side. Gessell, Jr. and Pogones cruised behind Peterson and almost went three wide as Pogones made the pass for first. Gessell, Jr. took second and Peterson fell to third. Gessell, Jr. was on Pogones’ rear as they rounded the 3/8 mile. Pogones nosed ahead but Gessell, Jr. kept on him. Becken and McCain still battled for the fourth point as Pogones again stretched his lead out. With few laps to go, Pogones caught slower traffic and Gessell, Jr. was onto Pogones. They swerved through the slower cars and Pogones held first, the checkers were raised and Gessell, Jr. was back at Pogones side. Gessell, Jr. settled for second as Pogones took the win. Peterson, Becken and McCain took the top points.


The WISSOTA Super Stocks took the track with Donna Jo Schmidt and Kyle Robideau in the lead. As the green flew Dan Gullikson drove between them for first. Matthew Dibb came from fifth, took second, and challenged Gullikson. Dibb made the pass and took first, but Gullikson kept on him. The 1/2 way flags were displayed and Gullikson moved to Dibb’s side. Gullikson retook the lead and Dibb began to fall back. Dibb’s #22 got loose, then rubbed the wall, but Dibb got it straight and chased Gullikson. Dibb tried to catch Gullikson but took second as the checkers waved. Robideau, Schmidt and Ronnie Malecki took the top points while Gullikson rolled his J&C Trucking Super Stock into victory lane.


Don Eischens claimed the lead as the WISSOTA Modifieds feature commenced. Andy Jones grabbed second and Eric Martini took third. Eischens drove away as Martini closed in on Jones. The yellow then flew and Jones flew passed Eischens on the restart. Eischens and Martini remained close but Eischens then caught a track rut and Martini took second. Martini then drove to Jones’ side but Jones also fell victim to a track rut and Martini grabbed the lead. Eischens got around Jones for second and Don Shaw took third. The leaders began to space out as Shaw caught Eischens. Eischens and Shaw battled for second as Shaw’s car caught the clay and went sideways. Eischens sped into second but Shaw recovered and was back at his door. After another caution, the restart was Martini with Eischens and Shaw in tow. Shaw took second and Clayton Wagamon drove next to Eischens. Martini took the win with Shaw in second. Wagamon and Eischens came to the line door to door and Wagamon claimed third. Eischens finished fourth and Justin Jones took the final top spot.


The Hornets capped off the nights features with Zach Gaslin and Sam Lungstrom in the lead. Lungstrom took the lead but Levi Voss moved to his side. Voss claimed the lead with Gaslin, Gavin Rowland and Quain Busitzky as the top four. The top four drivers raced side by side for top points while Bustizky made his move into first. Bustizky drove away and began to lap others while Rowland and Voss battled for second. As they joined lapped traffic Brandon Opsahl passed them all and took second. The yellow then waved and slowed Busitzky down. Two laps remained as Opsahl put the pressure on Bustizky. Busitzky kept his foot down and took the win with Opsahl, Rowland, Voss and Chris McClain as the top finishers.


Races will resume next Saturday at 6:30 for a Memorial Day Special.



WISSOTA Modifieds

Feature- Eric Martini, Don Shaw, Clayton Wagamon, Don Eischens, Justin Jones, Andy Jones, Jason Voigt, Zack Drews, Jeremy Nelson, Keith Tourville, Dano Ostrander, Toby Patchen, Josh Beaulieu, Jeffrey Lien, Jr., Charlie Hillukka, Mark Blood, Ryan Canon, Dustin Nelson, Jody Bellefeuille

Heat 1- Eischens, A. Jones, Patchen, Voigt, J. Jones, Beaulieu, Lofdahl

Heat 2- Wagamon, Bellefeuille, Martini, Atkinson, Ostrander, Tourville, Schuelke

Heat 3- Lien, Jr., J. Nelson, Shaw, Canon, Drews, Blood, Nelson


WISSOTA Super Stocks

Feature- Dan Gullikson, Matthew Dibb, Kyle Robideau, Donna Jo Schmidt, Ronnie Malecki, Josh Schmit, Jared Zimpel, JT Johnson, Dave Mass

Heat- Gullikson, Schmidt, Johnson, Schmit, Robideau, Dibb, Malecki, James Trantina, Zimpel, Mass


WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds

Feature- Jeremy Nelson, David Siercks, Tony Schill, Kyle Wehking, Wade Skindelien, Dan Flowers, Josh Paulson, Tyler English, Gino Fontecchio, Charlie Zander, Nick Castellino, Bud Martini

Heat 1- Nelson, Zander, English, Skindelien, Castellino, Paulson

Heat 2- Siercks, Martini, Schill, Wehking, Flowers, Fontecchio


WISSOTA Street Stocks

Feature- Justin Pogones, Allen Gessell, Jr., Kris Peterson, Kurt Becken, Dan McCain, Brian Friez, Brad Wright, Quentin Busitzky

Heat- Peterson, McCain, Becken, Pogones, Gessell, Jr., Friez, Wright, Busitzky



Feature- Matt Halls, Kyle Thell, Keith Thell, Ryan Buer, Trevor Roediger, Ross Mead, Chad Funt, Jamie Flickinger, Mike Christenson, Nick Jelacie

Heat- Ky. Thell, Halls, Ke. Thell, Mead, Buer, Funt, Roediger, Jelacie, Flickinger, Christenson


Ogilvie Hornets

Feature- Quain Busitzky, Brandon Opsahl, Gavin Rowland, Levi Voss, Chris McClain, Drew Johnson, Sam Lungstrom, Payton English, Zach Gaslin, Teale Kraft, Jenna Kraft, Terry Romick, Rob Hobbins

Heat 1- Busitzky, Romick, Voss, Rowland, McClain, Hobbins, T. Kraft

Heat 2- Opsahl, Lungstrom, Johnson, Gaslin, J. Kraft, English

Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway

Your website integration subscription has invalid license key.

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'oglvrw'@'localhost' (using password: NO)