2014 Awards Banquet will be held Saturday, February 28th!
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
Jun 30, 2012 - Clean Sweeps for Cain, Martini and Halls; Checkers for Gullikson and Blosberg

Ogilvie Raceway

By: R.J. Sahlstrom (June 30)


The sun was beating down on the Ogilvie Raceway as race teams began checking into the pits. Thermometer readings were very close to the 90 degree mark as cool air and shade was a commodity in demand. The heat transferred to the race track as fans were ready to see dirt track racing action. Clean sweeps were registered in WISSOTA Dirt Track Racing Series classes by Dave Cain, Bud Martini and Matt Halls. Jim Gullikson took a ride to victory lane in the WISSOTA Street Stocks for the second week in a row.


Sitting on row one for the WISSOTA Modified “Big O Show” were Terry Hanson and Larry Zeller. Zeller bolted out to a brief lead on lap one until he was passed by Dave Cain on lap two. Cain led the next few laps until the caution lights blinked three times in a row as the field tried to complete lap five. Eric Martini retired to the pits on caution one with a flat tire. A multi-car incident in turn four brought out the second caution. JB Stortz left the contest on the third caution as he dropped a driveshaft in front of the flag stand. The third restart would be the last as Cain slipped away from the field on lap five. He set the pace to the checkers as he led the last fifteen laps finishing a clean sweep in the Tim’s Automotive Machine powered rocket. Chasing him at the finish line were Darrell Nelson, Brett Hoium, JT Johnson (from 13th) and Jason Voigt.


Modified heat race victories were claimed by Cain and Eric Martini.


Leading the field to the green for the WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature were Dan Flowers and Bud Martini. Flowers drove out to the initial lead and would stay there through lap two. Martini then took control of the race on lap three until two cautions appeared on an attempt to finish lap eleven. He took the lead on the restart and survived two other second half yellows in his quest for the trophy. Martini capped off a sweep by rolling his Fasttrac Chassis into the winner’s circle. Finishing in the runner-up spot from a row 4 start was last week’s feature winner, Justin Oestreich. Rounding out the top five were David Siercks, Charlie Zander and Ryan Bowers.


The Midwest Modified heat winners were Martini, Siercks and Travis Schulte.


The WISSOTA Street Stock feature saw Chad Claassen and Quentin Busitzky lined up on row one. Claassen and WISSOTA National Rookie point leader Brad Schmidt turned in the same lap time on lap one and would be tied for the race lead. Schmidt broke the tie by leading the next five laps. During his time out front a 6 car pile up happened in turn 4 resulting in a few casualties. Jim Gullikson moved his way to the front from a row 4 start to take the lead on lap seven. The caution lights would blink two more times as Gullikson continued to dominate the 17 car field. Gullikson led all remaining laps in the Touch Em All Car Wash sponsored ride to earn a spot in victory lane for the second consecutive week. Behind him at the checkers were Schmidt, Justin Pogones, Keith Tourville and Mark Blood who started in row nine.


The Street Stock heat checkers were taken by Schmidt and Kurt Becken.


The WISSOTA Mod-4 feature was brought to the green by Ross Mead and Nick Jelacie. Tyler Larson blasted to the lead on lap one from a row 2 start. He would be there through lap three until Matt Halls passed him on lap four. The race would go all 15 laps without a single caution as Halls paced the field for all remaining circuits to complete a clean sweep for his efforts. He took the Yarmon Ford entry to the checkers followed by Larson, Jamie Flickinger, Kyle Thell and Chad Funt.


Halls and Funt won the heat races in the Mod-4 class.


The Hornet heat races were won by Levi Voss and Clay Blosberg. Blosberg finished a clean sweep as he won the main event.  


The next event at Ogilvie Raceway will be a regular race program on Saturday July 7th. The first green flag drops at 6:30pm.  If you are looking for some exciting dirt track racing on a Saturday night, come to the “BIG O” for dirt track racing at its finest.




WISSOTA Modified

Heat 1: Cain, Hanson, Stortz, Hoium, Dustin Nelson, Voigt, Johnson, Schuelke

Heat 2: Martini, Ostrander, Zeller, Darrell Nelson, Tourville, Pomeroy, Swanson, Peterson

Feature:  Dave Cain, Darrell Nelson, Brett Hoium, JT Johnson, Jason Voigt, Dustin Nelson, Terry Hanson, Scott Pomeroy, Keith Tourville, Kristopher Peterson, JB Stortz, Larry Zeller, John Schuelke, Eric Martini, Tim Swanson, Dano Ostrander


WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Heat 1: Martini, Bowers, Hanson, Bombardo, Jeremy Nelson, Davis, Putnam, Lien, Hastings

Heat 2: Siercks, Oestreich, Zander, Voigt, Meyer, Madson, Friez, Halverson

Heat 3: Schulte, Matuska, Flowers, Rask, Perry, Hines, Jeff Nelson, Gerwing, Fontecchio

Feature: Bud Martini, Justin Oestreich, David Siercks, Charlie Zander, Ryan Bowers, Kyle Matuska, Terry Hanson, Dan Flowers, Ricky Davis, Jeremy Nelson, Ryan Putnam, Paul Fontecchio, Brent Friez, Brandon Hines, Jeff Nelson, Clark Perry, Brandon Bombardo, Rusty Rask, Joe Voigt, Jeffery Lien, Jr., Travis Schulte, Shane Gerwing, Josh Madson, Jason Meyer, Kyle Hastings, Mike Halvorson


WISSOTA Street Stock

Heat 1: Schmidt, Claassen, Adams, Busitzky, Weyer, Frey, Jones, Pancake, Blood

Heat 2: Becken, Pogones, Gullikson, Tourville, Nelson, Zerfas, Howland, Cheney

Feature: Jim Gullikson, Brad Schmidt, Justin Pogones, Keith Tourville, Mark Blood, Patrick Zerfas, Chad Claassen, Bill Cheney, Jim Pancake, Kyle Howland, Chad Weyer, Dylan Jones, John Adams, Quentin Busitzky, Rick Nelson, Kurt Becken, Jeff Frey



Heat 1: Halls, Larson, Thell, Flickinger, Buer, Lindquist

Heat 2: Funt, VanMil, Mead, Jelacie, Northway, Kresal

Feature: Matt Halls, Tyler Larson, Jamie Flickinger, Kyle Thell, Chad Funt, Corry VanMil, Ryan Buer, Ross Mead, Nick Jelacie, Andrew Kresal, Brandon Lindquist, Kelly Northway



Heat 1: Voss, Keeney, Lungstrom, N. Olson, T. Kraft, Swanson

Heat 2: Blosberg, Busitzky, Opsahl, Troupe, J. Olson, J. Kraft

Feature: Clay Blosberg, Quain Busitzky, Christopher Keeney, Levi Voss, Travis Swanson, Sam Lungstrom, Jacob Olson, Dillon Troupe, Brandon Opsahl, Teale Kraft, Jenna Kraft, Noah Olson

Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway
Ogilvie Raceway

Your website integration subscription has invalid license key.

Error performing query: Access denied for user 'oglvrw'@'localhost' (using password: NO)